Top 10 List of Work Comp Audit Errors

Home Page

Who We Are

Who We Help

Are You Overcharged for Workers Compensation?

How We Fix Work Comp Errors

How Are We Paid

How To Get Started

What We Need From You

Refer A Client

About Our Owner

FAQ

Contact Information

Prepare for a Work Comp Audit

How to Dispute a Work Comp Audit

Forms

Work Comp Glossary

Workers Compensation Resources


Georgia Injured Employee Workers Compensation Benefits

Workers compensation employee benefit information for the State of Georgia

Georgia Workers Compensation Medical Benefits -

  • Medical benefits for injured Georgia workers are paid without length of time or cost limitations.

Who Chooses the Physician for Injured Workers in Georgia-

  • The Georgia employer is required to post a list of at least six doctors or the name of the certified WC/MCO which provides medical care. The injured worker may choose a doctor from the list and make one change to another doctor on the list without the permission of the employer. However, in an emergency, the injured worker may get temporary medical care from any doctor until the emergency is over; then must get treatment from a doctor on the posted list.

Georgia Workers Compensation Disability Benefits -

  • Temporary Total Disability (TTD) Benefits:
    • Injured Georgia workers are entitled to weekly income benefits if they have more than seven days of lost time due to an injury.
    • Compensation is 66 2/3 percent of the injured workers average weekly wage.
    • Minimum weekly payment is $50 or average wage if less.
    • Maximum weekly payment is $500
    • Maximum number of payments is 400 weeks.
    • Note:
      • Accidents are classified as being either catastrophic or non-catastrophic. Catastrophic injuries are those involving amputations, severe paralysis, severe head injuries, severe burns, blindness, or of a nature and severity that prevents the employee from being able to perform his or her prior work and any work available in substantial numbers within the national economy. In catastrophic cases, injured Georgia workers are entitled to receive two-thirds of their average weekly wage up to the maximum allowed under the law for a job-related injury for as long as they are unable to return to work.
      • In all other cases (non-catastrophic), injured workers are entitled to receive two-thirds of their average weekly wage but not more than the maximum allowed under the law for a job-related injury. They will receive these weekly benefits as long as they are totally disabled, but no longer than 400 weeks. If you are not working and it is determined that you have been capable of performing work with restrictions for 52 consecutive weeks or 78 aggregate weeks, your weekly income benefits will be reduced to two-thirds of your average weekly wage, but no more than the maximum allowed under the law, not to exceed 350 weeks.

  • Permanent Total Disability (PTD) Benefits:
    • Injured Georgia workers are entitled to weekly income benefits if they have more than seven days of lost time due to an injury.
    • Compensation is 66 2/3 percent of the injured workers average weekly wage.
    • Minimum weekly payment is $50 or average wage if less.
    • Maximum weekly payment is $500.
    • Maximum number of payments is 400 weeks.
    • See above note.

  • Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Benefits:
    • Injured Georgia workers are entitled to weekly income benefits if they have more than seven days of lost time due to an injury.
    • Compensation is 66 2/3 percent of the injured workers average weekly wage.
    • Minimum weekly payment is $50 or average wage if less.
    • Maximum weekly payment is $500
    • Maximum number of payments is for non-scheduled injuries is based on the statutory schedule.


Georgia Workers Death/Dependency Benefits -

  • In the event you die as a result of an on-the-job accident, your dependents will receive burial expenses up to the maximum allowed under the law and two-thirds of your average weekly wage, but not more than the maximum allowed under the law. A widowed spouse with no children will be paid a maximum allowed by law at the time of injury. Benefits continue until he/she remarries or openly cohabits with a person of the opposite sex.


Georgia Workers Compensation Attorney Fees -

  • Georgia Workers’ Compensation Statute limits the attorney’s fee to a maximum of 25% of income benefits received, not to exceed 400 weeks of benefits.

More specific workers compensation employee benefit information for this state can be found by following the link below. It will take you directly to the state web page containing employee's workers compensation rights and benefits:

http://sbwc.georgia.gov/02/sbwc/home/0,2235,11394008,00.html



Important Notice Please Read: All information on this page is provided only as a reference. While we strive to mantain accurate information on this site please realize workers compensation laws are complicated and subject to change at any time. If you need help with a workers compensation problem or have a specific situation or question please contact our office. Otherwise please consult your states governing authority or an attorney in your state of residency for assistance.


Contact Us:
WORKERS COMPENSATION CONSULTANT
Voice: (931) 292-2633
Fax: (573) 447-4998
email: rks@workcompconsultant.com


Disclaimer - Privacy

Copyright © 2009 Workers Comp Consultants, Inc. All rights reserved.