Top 10 List of Work Comp Audit Errors

Home Page

Who We Are

Who We Help

Are You Overcharged for Workers Compensation?

How We Fix Work Comp Errors

How Are We Paid

How To Get Started

What We Need From You

Refer A Client

About Our Owner

FAQ

Contact Information

Prepare for a Work Comp Audit

How to Dispute a Work Comp Audit

Forms

Work Comp Glossary

Workers Compensation Resources


Maine Workers Compensation - Employee Benefits

Workers compensation employee benefit information for the State of Maine

Maine Workers Compensation Medical Benefits -

  • Medical benefits for injured Maine workers are paid without lenghth of time or cost limitations.

Who Chooses the Physician for Injured Workers in Maine-

  • The Maine employer makes the initial selection of doctor however after a period of time specified in the Maine Workers Compensation Law, the injured employee can their own choice.

Maine Workers Compensation Disability Benefits -

  • Temporary Total Disability (TTD) Benefits:
    • Compensation is 80% percent of the injured workers after tax wage.
    • No minimum weekly payment.
    • Maximum weekly payment is 90% of the state average weekly wage or $596.42.
    • Maximum number of payments is no limit.
    • Benefits are subject to offsets.
    • Note:
      • 2008-2009 state average weekly wage is: $662.69.
      • There is a seven day waiting period after an injury before benefits begin. Compensation is retroactive and the first seven days are paid for if the period of injury is more than 14 days. Note there is a special rule for firemen who receive compensation from the date of injury.

  • Permanent Total Disability (PTD) Benefits:
    • Compensation is 80% percent of the injured workers after tax wage.
    • No minimum weekly payment.
    • Maximum weekly payment is 90% of the state average weekly wage or $596.42.
    • Maximum number of payments is no limit.
    • Benefits are subject to offsets.

  • Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Benefits:
    • Compensation is 80% percent of the injured workers after tax wage.
    • No minimum weekly payment.
    • Maximum weekly payment is 90% of the state average weekly wage or $596.42.
    • Maximum number of payments is no limit.
    • Benefits are subject to offsets.
    • Note:
      • Non-scheduled injuries are limited to a maximum of 312 weeks payments or for the total length of disability if the impairment is excess of 15% to the whole body. The maximum payable is $186,083.


Maine Workers Death/Dependency Benefits -

  • Death benefits for Maine workers are payable to the employee's surviving spouse, or spouse and children. The amount is based upon a percentage of the employee's wages, subject to a cap as lined out in state law. There is also a burial allowance is available.


Maine Workers Compensation Attorney Fees -

  • Attorney fees are determined on an individual case basis. Fees on settlements are capped at $7,500.

More specific workers compensation employee benefit information for this state can be found by following the link below. It will take you directly to the state web page containing employee's workers compensation rights and benefits:

http://www.maine.gov/wcb/index.html



Important Notice Please Read: All information on this page is provided only as a reference. While we strive to mantain accurate information on this site please realize workers compensation laws are complicated and subject to change at any time. If you need help with a workers compensation problem or have a specific situation or question please contact our office. Otherwise please consult your states governing authority or an attorney in your state of residency for assistance.


Contact Us:
WORKERS COMPENSATION CONSULTANT
Voice: (931) 292-2633
Fax: (573) 447-4998
email: rks@workcompconsultant.com


Disclaimer - Privacy

Copyright © 2009 Workers Comp Consultants, Inc. All rights reserved.