Top 10 List of Work Comp Audit Errors

Home Page

Who We Are

Who We Help

Are You Overcharged for Workers Compensation?

How We Fix Work Comp Errors

How Are We Paid

How To Get Started

What We Need From You

Refer A Client

About Our Owner

FAQ

Contact Information

Prepare for a Work Comp Audit

How to Dispute a Work Comp Audit

Forms

Work Comp Glossary

Workers Compensation Resources


New Jersey Workers Compensation - Employee Benefits

Workers compensation employee benefit information for the State of New Jersey

New Jersey Workers Compensation Medical Benefits -

  • All necessary and reasonable medical treatment, prescriptions and hospitalization services related to the work injury are paid by the employer's insurance carrier or directly by the employer if they are self-insured.

Who Chooses the Physician for Injured Workers in New Jersey -

  • The employer has the right to designate the authorized treating physician for all work related injuries. Only in the situations where the employer inappropriately refuses to provide medical treatment or if an emergency exists, may the injured worker choose the treating physician. In the case of the latter, the injured worker should notify the employer as soon as possible concerning the treatment being received.

New Jersey Workers Compensation Disability Benefits -

  • Temporary Total Disability (TTD) Benefits:
    • Compensation is 70 percent of the injured workers average weekly wage.
    • Minimum weekly payment is 20% of the state average weekly wage, $206.
    • Maximum weekly payment is 75% New Jersey state average weekly wage, $773.
    • Maximum term of payments is 400 weeks.
    • Note:
      • By law, you must be unable to work for seven days (including weekends and holidays) before you are eligible for temporary disability benefits. Benefits are retroactive to the first day. The seven days need not be consecutive.
      • Please note that there is no similar waiting period to receive medical benefits or permanent disability benefits. Those benefits are due, if warranted, regardless of the number of lost workdays.

  • Permanent Total Disability (PTD) Benefits:
    • Compensation is 70 percent of the injured workers average weekly wage.
    • Minimum weekly payment is 20% of the state average weekly wage, $206.
    • Maximum weekly payment is 75% New Jersey state average weekly wage, $773.
    • Maximum term of payments is 450 weeks however there are exceptions where benefits may continue.
    • Some offsets may apply.

  • Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Benefits:
    • Compensation is 70 percent of the injured workers wage.
    • Minimum weekly payment is 20% of the state average weekly wage, $206.
    • Maximum weekly payment is 75% of the state average weekly wage, $773.
    • Note:
      • Non-scheduled injuries the maximum period of payments is 600 weeks and the maximum amount payable is $463,000.
      • When injury is of the scheduled type and an amputation, an additional 30% is added to any award.
      • Permanent Total Disability is also presumed when the worker has lost two major members or a combination of members of the body such as eyes, arms, hands, legs or feet. However, permanent total disability can also result from a combination of injuries that render the worker unemployable.


New Jersey Workers Death/Dependency Benefits -

  • Dependents of a worker who dies because of a work related injury or illness may be eligible to receive death benefits. The weekly benefits payments are 70% of the weekly wage of the deceased worker, not to exceed the maximum benefit amount established annually by the Commissioner of Labor. The benefit amount is divided by the surviving dependents as determined by a judge after a hearing on extent of dependency.
  • The employer or its insurance carrier is responsible to pay up to $3,500 in funeral expenses for a job-related death. These funds are payable to whomever is liable for the funeral bill, be it the estate or an individual.


New Jersey Workers Compensation Attorney Fees -

  • Please note that an attorney cannot charge a fee to represent you in a workers' compensation matter. Any counsel fee, which can never be more than 20% of the benefits awarded, would be set by the judge assigned to your case.

More specific workers compensation employee benefit information for this state can be found by following the link below. It will take you directly to the state web page containing employee's workers compensation rights and benefits:

http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/wc/workers/workers_index.html



Important Notice Please Read: All information on this page is provided only as a reference. While we strive to mantain accurate information on this site please realize workers compensation laws are complicated and subject to change at any time. If you need help with a workers compensation problem or have a specific situation or question please contact our office. Otherwise please consult your states governing authority or an attorney in your state of residency for assistance.


Contact Us:
WORKERS COMPENSATION CONSULTANT
Voice: (931) 292-2633
Fax: (573) 447-4998
email: rks@workcompconsultant.com


Disclaimer - Privacy

Copyright © 2009 Workers Comp Consultants, Inc. All rights reserved.