Top 10 List of Work Comp Audit Errors

Home Page

Who We Are

Who We Help

Are You Overcharged for Workers Compensation?

How We Fix Work Comp Errors

How Are We Paid

How To Get Started

What We Need From You

Refer A Client

About Our Owner

FAQ

Contact Information

Prepare for a Work Comp Audit

How to Dispute a Work Comp Audit

Forms

Work Comp Glossary

Workers Compensation Resources


Wisconsin Injured Employee Workers Compensation Benefits

Workers compensation employee benefit information for the State of Wisconsin

Wisconsin Workers Compensation Medical Benefits -

  • Medical benefits for injured Wisconsin workers are paid without regard to length of disability or amount of cost.

Who Chooses the Physician for Injured Workers in Wisconsin -

  • When a worker reports an injury, the employer shall offer the worker the right to select a doctor of the worker's choice for treatment. The employee may select any physician, psychologist, chiropractor, dentist or podiatrist who is licensed to practice in Wisconsin. If the injury creates an emergency situation, the employer may make whatever arrangements are necessary for immediate treatment. Once the emergency passes, the worker has the right to select a doctor for future treatment.
  • If the employee is not satisfied with the first doctor, one more choice is allowed; however, the worker must notify the employer of this second choice.

Wisconsin Workers Compensation Disability Benefits -

  • Temporary Total Disability (TTD) Benefits:
    • There is a three-day waiting period before benefits can be paid. If they are out of work for more than 7 days, they will receive compensation even for the first three days.
    • An injured worker's wage paid is 66 2/3%.
    • The weekly payment minimum is $30 or the injured workers average wage if it is less.
    • The weekly maximum is $805, 100% of the Wisconsin state average weekly wage.
    • Maximum period of payments is for the length of the disability.
    • Benefits are offset by Social Security.
    • Note:
      • Current Wisconsin state average weekly wage is: $805

  • Permanent Total Disability (PTD) Benefits:
    • An injured worker's wage paid is 66 2/3%.
    • The weekly payment minimum is $30 or the injured workers average wage if it is less.
    • The weekly maximum is $805, 100% of the Wisconsin state average weekly wage.
    • Maximum period of payments is for life.
    • Benefits are offset by Social Security.

  • Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Benefits:
    • An injured worker's wage paid is 66 2/3%.
    • The weekly payment minimum is $30 or the injured workers average wage if it is less.
    • The weekly maximum is $262.
    • Benefits are offset by Social Security.
    • Note:
      • Non-scheduled injuries have a maximum period of payments of 1000 weeks.
      • Non-scheduled injuries maximum amount is $262,000.


  • Wisconsin Workers Death/Dependency Benefits -

    • If a work-related accident or occupational disease causes death, or if a worker dies while entitled to PTD benefits, the law provides for the payment of compensation to a spouse, parent or a relative. Extra benefits are paid to dependent children.
    • If there is a surviving wife or husband, benefits are paid to the spouse, and all other relatives are excluded (except children who get additional benefits). Compensation varies according to the employee’s wage up to the maximum wage in effect at the time of injury. The maximum death benefit is four times the average annual earnings. The benefits are payable monthly. If there is a spouse and dependent children, the division may reassign death benefits to the children if the spouse remarries.
    • Dependent children under 18 years of age living with the employee at the time of injury may receive additional benefits. If the child is mentally or physically incapacitated, benefits may be paid past age 18. The amount of benefits varies with the age of each child. The younger the child, the greater the total benefit.
    • If there is no surviving spouse or child and the employee was totally supporting a parent or other relatives, such parent or relatives are entitled to the full death benefit. If parents are not dependent, but have maintained friendly relations with the deceased, they are allowed $6,500 if the injury occurred on or after January 1, 1990. If the employee contributed $500 to the support of parents in the year before death, the parents may be awarded additional death benefits up to the greater of four times the contributions in the preceding year or one-half of the normal death benefit.
    • In all cases where death results from a work-related accident or disease, the employer or the insurance company must pay burial expenses up to the limits in the law.


    Wisconsin workers Compensation Attorney Fees -

    • Attorney fees are determined on a case by case basis.

    More specific workers compensation employee benefit information for this state can be found by following the link below. It will take you directly to the state web page containing employee's workers compensation rights and benefits:

    http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/dwd/publications/wc/WKC-7580.htm#weekly



    Important Notice Please Read: All information on this page is provided only as a reference. While we strive to mantain accurate information on this site please realize workers compensation laws are complicated and subject to change at any time. If you need help with a workers compensation problem or have a specific situation or question please contact our office. Otherwise please consult your states governing authority or an attorney in your state of residency for assistance.


    Contact Us:
    WORKERS COMPENSATION CONSULTANT
    Voice: (931) 292-2633
    Fax: (573) 447-4998
    email: [email protected]


    Disclaimer - Privacy

    Copyright © 2009 Workers Comp Consultants, Inc. All rights reserved.